Start Planning
South Africa
School Holidays

South Africa School Holidays

Discover upcoming school holiday dates for South Africa and start planning to make the most of your term break.

The dates of government school term and school holiday in South Africa are determined by the Department of Basic Education. Under Section 3(4)(k) of the National Education Policy Act, 1996, the Minister of Basic Education co-ordinates the dates of school terms among provinces and then releases the official dates to the public.

There are 4 terms in a school year, with a holiday in between terms.  Each term holiday in South Africa usually spans between 1 to 5 weeks. All the 9 provinces in South Africa – Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumlanga, North West, Northern Cape and Western Cape – share the same school calendars.

School holidays in South Africa are a prime time for families to travel. So, make sure to book your family holiday plans in advance.

Previous Years